Celebrate Downtown

The Downtown Long Beach Alliance (DTLB Alliance) is proud to announce the return of Celebrate Downtown to Lincoln Park, happening on Thursday, March 23 from 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm.

The community is invited to eat, drink and join in on the festivities to honor our Downtown community leaders, celebrate the progress of the past year, and recognize the positive future of Downtown Long Beach. To pre-purchase food and drink tickets, click here. Tickets will also be available to purchase at the event.

The Spirit of Downtown Awards have been the centerpiece of Celebrate Downtown since the event was created in 2012. This year’s award recipients will follow a longstanding tradition of recognizing individuals who embody passion, dedication, and inspirational leadership in DTLB.

For updates, follow DLBA’s social media channels: Instagram @DLBA, Facebook Downtown Long Beach, Twitter @DLBA.


Spirit of Downtown Award Winners

(Note: Awards postponed in 2020-2021 due to the pandemic)

  • Jamaica Aali, Black Everywhere
  • Dr. Robert Garcia, Mayor of Long Beach
  • Sheila Gibbons and Alan Giomi, Willmore Baking Company
  • Robb Smith, Alley Cat Deliveries
  • Downtown Runners, represented by Joaquin Nuñez
  • Pedal Movement, represented by co-founders Johnny Tully, Evan Kelly, and Graham Baden


  • Al Williams, Rainbow Promotions and LB Jazz Festival
  • Laurie Gray, The Pie Bar
  • Isa Rached, The B Room & It’s A Drag To Give
  • Josie Rached, The B Room & It’s A Drag To Give
  • Aquarium of the Pacific
  • Phil Appleby, East Village Arts District
  • Pat Paris-Appleby, East Village Arts District


  • Arts Council for Long Beach (represented by Griselda Suarez)
  • Dale Warner, Hamburger Mary’s
  • Javier and Hilda Ortiz, Kress Market
  • Studioneleven and Retail Design Collaborative (represented by Allan Pullman and Michael Bohn)
  • Summer And Music (SAM) (represented by Justin Hectus, Ashley Hectus, and Rand Foster)


  • Jan Robert van Dijs, JR van Dijs
  • The Family of Josh Fischel
  • The Promenade Area Residential Association (PARA) Playground Committee (represented by Kristin Dunn, Deb K and Joen Garnica)


  • Vice Mayor Suja Lowenthal
  • Don Darnauer, Resident
  • Julia Huang, interTrend Communications


  • Brian Ulaszewski, City Fabrick
  • Mary Coburn, DLBA Operations Mgr (retiring)
  • Friends of Lincoln Park (represented by Allison Kripp)
  • Giovanna Ferraro, Groundwork Fitness


  • Downtown Residential Council (represented by Eric Carr)
  • Gabe Gordon, Beachwood BBQ & Brewing
  • Kerstin Kansteiner, Berlin Bistro


  • John and Michelle Molina, Lauren Limbaugh and Kasra Esteghamat, Millworks
  • Jim Danno and Kathleen Irvine, Willmore City Heritage Association

2012 (inaugural awards all presented posthumously)

  • Larry Allison, Press Telegram’s Editorial Page Editor
  • Bill Baker, Chair, Long Beach Redevelopment Agency
  • Mark Bixby, Bicycling Advocate and Community Volunteer
  • Shaun Lumachi, Co-Founder and Publisher, Long Beach Post