

Governance Committee

Sam Pierzina – Chair

Debra Fixen

Graham Gill

Silissa Uriarte Smith

Whitney Neal

Staff

Austin Metoyer, President & CEO

Kelsey Mader, General Manager

Jeremy Ancalade, Vice President of Finance & Administration

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Tuesday, October 31, 2023 10:00 AM

DLBA Conference Room

100 W Broadway, Suite 120 Long Beach, CA 90802

Voting Present: Sam Pierzina, Silissa Uriarte Smith, Whitney Neal

Voting Absent: Debra Fixen, Graham Gill

DLBA Staff: Austin Metoyer, Kelsey Mader, Jeremy Ancalade

- CALL TO ORDER and INTRODUCTIONS Sam Pierzina, Chair Meeting presentation. Called to order at 10:07 AM.
- 2. APPROVE MINUTES

ACTION: Approve Minutes from August 31, 2023 Meetings

MOTION: 1st: Pierzina; 2nd: Smith.

VOTE: None opposed. No abstentions. Motion passes.

- 3. CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT Pierzina
 - A. FY 23-24 Committee Appointments

i. Economic Development

ACTION: Approve the following seven candidates to serve on DLBA's Economic Development Committee for FY 24, effective October I, 2023 and expiring upon the approval of a new committee for FY 25.

- Ashleigh Stone
- Aaron Palmer
- Isabelle Bart
- Courney Chatterson
- Josh Rockwell
- Holly Boutelle
- Karen Semien McBride

MOTION: 1st: Smith; 2nd: Neal.

VOTE: None opposed. No abstentions. Motion passes.

ii. Marketing & Communications

ACTION: Approve the following seven candidates to serve on DLBA's Marketing & Communications Committee for FY 24, effective October I, 2023 and expiring upon the approval of a new committee for FY 25.

- Amlin Kotei
- Claudia Ayala
- Samantha Mehlinger
- Melissa Urena
- Patrick Michel
- Nathan Laskar
- Ryan La Rosa

MOTION: 1st: Smith; 2nd: Neal.

<u>VOTE</u>: None opposed. No abstentions. Motion passes.

iii. Placemaking

ACTION: Approve the following six candidates to serve on DLBA's Placemaking Committee for FY 24, effective October 1, 2023 and expiring upon the approval of a new committee for FY 25.

- Max Beach
- Milton Ordonez
- Solimar Salas
- Alan Burks
- Mike Gold
- Tasha Hunter
- Shruti Shankar
- Hannah Moon

MOTION: 1st: Pierzina; 2nd: Smith.

VOTE: None opposed. No abstentions. Motion passes.

iv. Public Safety

ACTION: Approve the following seven candidates to serve on DLBA's Public Safety Committee for FY 24, effective October I, 2023 and expiring upon the approval of a new committee for FY 25

- Robb Smith
- Vincent Severen
- Terry Krieger
- Paul Boyd-Batstone
- Paul Hargis
- Andrew Fiorentino
- Teri Tan

MOTION: 1st: Pierzina; 2nd: Smith.

VOTE: None opposed. No abstentions. Motion passes.

v. Special Events & Sponsorships

<u>ACTION:</u> Approve the following seven candidates to serve on DLBA's Special Events & Sponsorships Committee for FY 24, effective October I, 2023 and expiring upon the approval of a new committee for FY 25

- Rhonda Love
- Silissa Uriarte Smith
- Judy Estrada
- Clay Wood
- Claudia Ayala
- Jennifer Totah-Wolfe
- Greg Beck

MOTION: 1st: Pierzina; 2nd: Smith.

VOTE: None opposed. No abstentions. Motion passes.

- B. DISUSSION: Updating DLBA Bylaws Appendix I ELECTION PROCEDURES OF THE DOWNTOWN LONG BEACH ALLIANCE ARTICLE 5: ELECTIONS OF OFFICERS
- 4. STAFF REPORT
 - A. Board/Committee Experience Survey
 - B. Misc. Austin Metoyer
- 5. OLD BUSINESS
- 6. NEW BUSINESS
- 7. PUBLIC COMMENT (three minutes on all non-agenda items)
- 8. ADJOURNMENT

Adjourned at 10:38 AM.

NEXT GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING: November TBD

Location: DLBA Conference Room

Mission: Cultivate, preserve, and promote a healthy, safe, and prosperous Downtown for all.

All meetings held by the Downtown Long Beach Alliance shall be conducted in compliance with the Brown Act, California Government Code Section 54950 et s, and its requirement that public commissions, boards, councils, and public agencies conduct business openly. E-Mail correspondence regarding agenda items can be directed to info@dlba.org. Agenda items may also be reviewed as posted in public view at the DLBA offices or at City Hall. If special accommodation is desired pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please make your request by phone to (562) 436-4259, by noon the day prior to the meeting.